The hiatus is over! After a break that lasted nearly four years and a five year gap between albums, Disturbed are back in a big way. The band has just unleashed a new single called 'The Vengeful One' (watch the video above) and has announced the release of their sixth studio album, 'Immortalized,' due out Aug. 21.

Disturbed had teased their return with a series of short video clips over the past few days, but now they've offered up all the details of their comeback. "The idea was to leave when we were at our peak, which we were, and to come back when we felt reinvigorated," says singer David Draiman in a press release.

"We had basically been going nonstop since 1998," adds drummer Mike Wengren. "We got to do our own things. It didn't take too long until the itch started coming back." Guitarist Dan Donegan explains, "We wanted to return when we collectively had that fire underneath us. We missed it so much that we could tap into this energy and deliver the right album. We did it on our own terms."

The band secretly started working on the album at the beginning of 2014, not even telling friends and family that they had begun the process. Draiman states that the new album marks the first time the band has collectively written songs together since 2001. "For this album, everything was written in the same room," says Draiman. "It was wonderful experiencing how it used to be back in the day for us. That became apparent in the material, whether it was the passion of the performance, the power being harnessed, or the feelings evoked. We could feel the difference."

The album was produced by Kevin Churko, who has worked with Ozzy Osbourne, Five Finger Death Punch, Papa Roach and more. The standard addition includes 13 songs, including a cover of the Simon & Garfunkel classic 'The Sound of Silence.' A deluxe edition contains three additional tunes. See the track list and album art below.

The video for 'The Vengeful One' (above) was directed by acclaimed filmmaker Phil Mucci. The album 'Immortalized' is currently available for pre-order in a variety of editions at this location.

Disturbed Immortalized
Warner Bros

Disturbed, 'Immortalized' - Track List

1. The Eye Of The Storm
2. Immortalized
3. The Vengeful One
4. Open Your Eyes
5. The Light
6. What Are You Waiting For
7. You're Mine
8. Who
9. Save Our Last Goodbye
10. Fire It Up
11. The Sound of Silence
12. Never Wrong
13. Who Taught You How To Hate
14. Tyrant*
15. Legion of Monsters*
16. The Brave And The Bold*

*Deluxe Release Only

See the Ages of David Draiman + More Rock Stars in This Birthday Gallery:

More From Loudwire