It had been a while — just under five years — since hard rock icons Staind had performed a full show. The long-awaited reunion finally coalesced at this year's Louder Than Life festival with Staind playing a comeback set on Friday (Sept. 27).

The band had partially reunited for a three-song acoustic encore at frontman Aaron Lewis' 2017 charity golf tournament, but this was a full-blown reunion. With a set consisting of 12 songs, Staind played material from five of their seven full lengths, leaving their self-released debut album, Tormented and 2008's The Illusion of Progress, out of the equation.

Staind launched into "Eyes Wide Open" to begin the set, closing with "Mudshovel" after playing the smash hit ballad, "It's Been a While." Watch fan-shot footage of all three songs toward the bottom of the page and view a teaser recap directly below.

"It was amazing to be back onstage and playing those songs again with Aaron, Johnny and Sal," said guitarist Mike Mushok. "The crowd at Louder Than Life couldn’t have been better, or given us a better reception. Looking forward to Foxwoods this weekend and Aftershock…should be fun!"

Regarding the comeback effort, Aaron Lewis told Loudwire in April, "It was just a matter of enough time having gone by. We decided that we were gonna put a couple shows on the books and just start there. Just kinda dip our toes and see what happens, and look at this from a distance."

“The time was right for us to take these opportunities and start making music again," Mushok said, who echoed Lewis' sentiments when he added, "There’s some great festivals coming up that we’ve played before, and doing those again is something we’ve talked about for a long time. Aaron and I both felt it was a good time to get back together and start playing these songs again."

Staind Set List - Sept. 27, 2019

01. "Eyes Wide Open"
02. "Paper Jesus"
03. "Not Again"
04. "Fade"
05. "For You"
06. "Crawl"
07. "Raw"
08. "Right Here"
09. "Outside"
10. "So Far Away"
11. "It's Been Awhile"
12. "Mudshovel"

Staind, "Eyes Wide Open"

Staind, "It's Been a While"

Staind, "Mudshovel"

Best Rock Albums of 2019... So Far


More From Loudwire