Arizona's Gatecreeper are back with their second album, Deserted, coming out Oct. 4 on Relapse Records. Get your first taste of their grimy, classic death metal with the lead single, "Boiled Over," heard below.

Melding melody with muscular mid-tempo riffs, Gatecreeper have crafted a song that's as catchy as it is devastating.

"The first song from Deserted we chose to share with the world is 'Boiled Over.' With this song, we tried to capture the melodic side of Bolt Thrower mixed with the crushing heaviness and groove of bands like Obituary or Crowbar. There is a confident swagger to the song that any fan of heavy music can enjoy," said the band. We'll argue there's a slice of Edge of Sanity and mid-'90s Dismember in there too!

Speaking about their growth since issuing the Sonorian Depravation debut in 2016, Gatecreeper commented, "We are very proud to finally unleash our second full length album. There are plenty of new and exciting elements mixed into our songwriting formula, but the most apparent evolution is simply getting better at what we have been doing since the beginning. Our experiences over the three years have made us a stronger band all around. With Deserted we wanted to solidify and define the Gatecreeper sound of memorable songwriting with both infectious hooks and crushing riffs."

Deserted was recorded at Homewrecker Studios in Tucson, Ariz. where the band co-produced the album with engineer Ryan Bram. Converge's Kurt Ballou handled the mix and Brad Boatright oversaw mastering.

Pre-order the record here and view the Brad Moore-created album art and track listing beneath the song.

Gatecreeper, "Boiled Over"

Gatecreeper, Deserted Album Art + Track Listing


01. "Deserted"
02. "Puncture Wounds"
03. "From the Ashes"
04. "Ruthless"
05. "Everlasting"
06. "Barbaric Pleasure"
07. "Sweltering Madness"
08. "Boiled Over"
09. "In Chains"
10. "Absence of Light"

The Best Death Metal Album of Each Year Since 1985


More From Loudwire