The records state that Lordi formed in 1992 and released their first album in 2002, but what if they actually had been around much longer? That's a bit of the idea behind their latest album, Killection.

According to the press announcement for the new album, the group has envisioned the release as if they had actually been around making music since the early '70s, with this selection of songs spanning that entire era.

"Killection is a compilation album that simply says “what if” Lordi had been in existence since the early 70's. It contains all their imaginary hit singles from different periods done with painstaking attention to detail using authentic studios and vintage technology. This is how they would have sounded if Lordi would have made music back then and therefore would have had the hit material to release this compilation now," reads a description for the album.

Mr. Lordi himself adds, "Killection is a fictional compilation album. It contains songs that Lordi would have written between the early 70's through the mid-90's. The compilation contains one "brand new" song from 2019 as well, cause that’s somehow always typical for compilations."

Killection is due Jan. 31 and you can check out the artwork and track listing below. At present, they have a one-off in Helsinki, Finland on Dec. 13, but will return to the road in earnest in February for a month-and-a-half long European tour. See all their dates here.

Lordi, Killection Artwork + Track Listing

AFM Records
AFM Records

01 Radio SCG 10
02 Horror for Hire
03 Shake the Baby Silent
04 Like a Bee to the Honey
05 Apollyon
06 SCG10 the Last Hour
07 Blow My Fuse
08 I Dug a Hole in the Yard For You
09 Zombimbo
10 Up To No Good
11 SCG10 Demonic Semitones
12 Cutterfly
13 Evil
14 Scream Demon
15 SCG10 I Am Here

10 Best Masked Rock + Metal Acts

More From Loudwire