Pennywise have been carrying the punk rock torch since 1988, but for many the first exposure to the band was their 1991 self-titled debut disc for Epitaph Records. However, longtime fans will get a chance to dig even deeper into their history with the release of the Nineteen Eighty Eight LP on May 20.

The band and Theologian Records are teaming up with Hardline Entertainment to reissue their earliest recordings on a single platter. You'll find music from the A Word From the Wise and Wildcard EPs, as well as tracks from the Soul Arch compilation that included the group's covers of Black Flag's "Gimmie Gimmie Gimmie" and Ben E. King's "Stand By Me." The Nineteen Eighty Eight LP will be released on colored vinyl with blue and green opaque options, as well as a very limited edition 180 gram blue and white swirl that will be numbered and signed by the band.

“For me it’s a great honor to release these early recordings," says Hardline Entertainment's Ken Seaton. "These tracks were the band’s first recordings in a professional studio. I remember the day we got the test pressing and went to my print shop and put it on my record player. The hair on my arms stood up as I heard the songs come alive on wax. It was surreal. We then printed the covers, took apart another EP cover to use as a template and we all started cutting, folding and gluing our share. From the forming of Pennywise, to building carpet cave practice spots, to going to numerous backyard parties and shows, printing flyers and tees to think that this band might actually go somewhere was not only very special to myself and the band, but to all of us in the South Bay."

Theologian Records' Marc Theodore adds, “I've always felt the record was great but at the time I thought A Word From The Wise would be the only record I’d ever release. For me, it opened the door to so much more. It was the genesis of Theologian Records leading to numerous releases from local to international bands, to co-owning a recording studio with Fletcher, Byron and Justin (98 Mute), as well as a couple more Pennywise releases! Has it really been over a quarter of a century since that first record? I’m stoked the band is going just as strong as ever and can’t thank Pennywise enough for sticking with me all these years."

Justin Thirsk, brother of Pennywise's Jason Thirsk, concludes, "To my brother, Jason, these first real Pennywise recordings were the nucleus and beginning of a brand new era in his life. When these two EPs were being glued together by all of us in our kitchens, he felt such an accomplishment and felt like Pennywise could actually break out of the South Bay and do some good in the world. This was the first time he was ever in an actual recording studio and it gave him such joy and also some pride. For him (and for me) to be able to see his words that he wrote in his room become actual songs and then those songs being actually recorded and put on vinyl was just unreal. He dreamed of that since the first time he heard Black Flag, Youth Brigade, Blitz, etc…when he was a kid and now it was actually happening thanks to Marc Theodore. I personally remember helping to glue all of those EPs sleeves together and it was just unreal and so cool to be a part of.”

To get more of an idea of what to expect, check out the songs "No Way Out" and "Gone" in the player provided below and see the track listing for the effort. Nineteen Eighty Eight is currently available for pre-sale at this location.

Pennywise, "No Way Out" and "Gone

Pennywise, Nineteen Eighty Eight Track Listing

1. "Final Chapters"
2. "Covers"
3. "Depression"
4. "No Way Out"
5. "Gone"
6. "Wild Card"
7. "Maybes"
8. "Stand By Me" (Ben E King cover)
9. "Tomorrow"
10. "Don't Feel Nothing"
11. "Gimmie Gimmie Gimmie" (Black Flag cover)

Top 25 Punk Albums of All-Time